Taylor Town Hall office hours change

By Linda Kor

The Taylor Town Council approved a change to the town hall office hours last week for the convenience of the public. The office will now be open 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Monday through Thursday, and closed on Fridays.

The council took public comment on two items, one regarding a request by the owner to split a two-acre parcel on Baldwin Lane. There was no public comment regarding the split of the parcel and the council approved that request.

The other was made by the Taylor Planning and Zoning Commission to change areas zoned as AG-2, which is the zoning for the majority of all residential property in the town, to AG-1. There was public discussion on the request for the zoning change, both for and against the proposal by the public. The item was placed on the agenda in an effort to allow parcel division without having to come before the commission for each request. That request was denied by the council and the zoning remains as it was.

The council also approved renewal of an intergovernmental agreement between the Snowflake/Taylor Police Department and the Navajo County Sheriff’s Office to continue to have an officer on the Major Crimes Apprehension Team (MCAT).

Also approved was a resolution to take part in the Navajo County Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan.

An item on the agenda for consideration of a town proclamation statement was tabled due to the absence of Councilman Lyle DeWitt, who placed the item on the agenda. Councilmen Kyle Peck and Jason Brubaker were also absent from the proceedings.